June Ornament Update

Goodness, where did the time go! Somehow the entire month of June got away from me, and I didn’t manage to post even once. I have been stitching though. My Mermaid is making progress, and I’m starting something new(ish) that I’ll post about when I get a chance. But first, I need to post my June ornament!

OrnamentJuneFinished

Dasher, by Hinzeit

This ornament came into being because the guys at the local Gleaners organization that I am a member of are endlessly amused by my stitching. I often have time to kill while I am waiting after picking up my bag of groceries as one of the other volunteers gives me a ride home. So rather than sit idle, I usually take something with me to work on. Ornaments are a good take along project, so the guys there have watched my progress on several over the last year. A few weeks ago, one of the guys I volunteer with offhandedly said that his grandmother would love an ornament, and do I ever sell the ornaments I make? Next thing I knew, we’d agreed on a pattern and a price, and off I went!

This ornament was a lot of fun to stitch – it is tweaked slightly from the original pattern – I lopped off the topmost part of the antler because it was already so big, and changed the colors from purple to blue because the guy’s grandmother’s favorite color is blue. I finished it using my usual pillow ornament method. When he was done, I didn’t want to part with him, he was so cute! I told myself I can always stitch another for myself, but with as many ornament patterns as there are out there to stitch, that’s highly unlikely that I’ll repeat this one!

Leave a comment