May ornament done!

Yes, yes, I know it’s the first of June. But it’s close enough to count! Besides, the airconditioning at my house was dead for the better part of the last week and I had no desire to do anything except sit in front of a fan and sip lemonade. Even the thought of stitching snowflakes didn’t tempt me.  Now that the AC is working again, everything is back to normal – or as normal as they ever get around here. But nevermind all that – you’re here to see the stitching!

Ornament - MayStitchingFinished

Here it is!  This was a lovely little pattern by Beehive Needleworks that was an absolute pleasure to stitch. I stitched it over 1 on some 32 count linen that I tea dyed. I really enjoy how tiny and delicate things look stitched up at such a small scale, but it does mean that the piece itself ends up pretty small. I haven’t decided for sure yet, but I think my plan is to sew a strip of red fabric that matches the thread I used for it across the bottom to make the piece a bit more square, and then turn it into a pillow ornament. The final decision is yet to be made though. I’ll work on it when inspiration hits.

And now I must return to my mermaid. She’s been calling me rather insistently over the last few days while I worked on this ornament so I plan on spending some good quality time with her. Though that time will have to be split between her and the kitchen – I’ve got a fridge full of ingredients that need my attention too. I’ll have to share some of the nummies I make here too I think. Tonight I’ve got a batch of Chocolate Chai Plum Fruit Rollups in progress in the oven, and oh my, the entire house smells amazing. I’ll try to remember to take pictures of them so I can share the recipe here before I scarf them all down.

Leave a Reply

